How your Crawley councillor voted on Gatwick second runway bid


Crawley Borough Council has voted to oppose expansion at Gatwick Airport.

Councillors aired their views and took part in a free vote at an Extraordinary Meeting of the Full Council on Monday (January 26).

The result – 25 votes to 11 against the building of a second runway – will be included in a detailed response submitted by the council to the Airports Commission.

Only Cllr Liam Marshall-Ascough (Con, Southgate) failed to attend the meeting.

Those opposed to expansion: Keith Blake (Con, Gossops Green), Sally Blake (Con, Pound Hill North), Howard Bloom (Con, Pound Hill South & Worth), Nigel Boxall (Con, Tilgate), Keith Brockwell (Con, Pound Hill North), Brenda Burgess (Con, Three Bridges), Bob Burgess (Con, Three Bridges), Richard Burrett (Con, Pound Hill North), Chris Cheshire (Lab, Bewbush), Duncan Crow (Con, Furnace Green), Carol Eade (Con, Furnace Green), Ian Irvine (Lab, Broadfield North), Michael Jones (Lab, Bewbush), Bob Lanzer (Con, Pound Hill South & Worth), Colin Lloyd (Lab, Tilgate), Beryl Mecrow (Con, Pound Hill South & Worth), Chris Mullins (Lab, Gossops Green), Duncan Peck (Con, Maidenbower), David Shreeves (Lab, Langley Green), Brenda Smith (Lab, Langley Green), John Stanley (Lab, Ifield), Karen Sudan (Lab, West Green), Geraint Thomas (Lab, Northgate), Ken Trussell (Con, Maidenbower), Bill Ward (Lab, West Green).

Those in favour: Marion Ayling (Lab, Bewbush), Stephen Joyce (Lab, Langley Green), Peter Lamb (Lab, Northgate), Tim Lunnon (Lab, Broadfield South), Colin Moffatt (Lab, Broadfield South), Chris Oxlade (Lab, Ifield), Micahel Pickett (Lab, Southgate), Brian Quinn (Lab, Broadfield North), Raj Sharma (Lab, Southgate), Peter Smith (Lab, Ifield), Lenny Walker (Con, Maidenbower).