Crawley Borough Council publishes nominees for May elections

No Caption ABCDE ENGNNL00120131029151309
No Caption ABCDE ENGNNL00120131029151309

The nominees for the borough council elections on May 22 have been published.

The list throws up some interesting battles and re-introduces some old faces.

Former Conservatives, Ali Burke and Lee Gilroy, will be standing for UKIP, while Simon Darroch has also jumped ship from the Tories to UKIP.

Council leader Cllr Howard Bloom has abandoned his Southgate seat and will be standing in Pound Hill South and Worth, alongside fellow Tory and former councillor Beryl MeCrow.

Neither John Denman (Ifield) nor Alan Quirk (Broadfield South) will be standing for re-election.

The candidates for each ward are:


Tina Belben (Con) of Pine Shaw, Pound Hill

Michael Gerard Jones (Lab) of Teesdale, Southgate,

Arshad Khan (Justice Party) of Letchworth Court, Bewbush

Casey Leigh Lavington (UKIP) of Medway Road, Gossops Green.

Broadfield North

Corinne Anne Bowen (Con) of Chaldon Road, Broadfield,

Christopher James Brown (UKIP) of Orion Court, Bewbush,

Ian Irvine (Lab) of Sorrel Close, Broadfield

Derek Roy Isaacs (Socialist Party) of Beach Road, Broadfield.

Broadfield South

David Noir Bowen (Con) of Chaldon Road, Broadfield,

Mia D Bristow (UKIP) of Lindgren Walk, Broadfield

Tim Lunnon (Lab) of Sprucefield Court, West Green.

Furnace Green

David Lee Anderson (LDem) of West Green Drive, West Green,

Carol Eade (Con) of Brambletye Road, Furnace Green,

Allan Peter Griffiths (UKIP) of Waterlea, Furnace Green

Andrew Clifford Skudder (Lab) of Vivienne Close, Langley Green.


John Stanley (Lab) of Tunnmeade, Ifield,

Martin Alan Stone (Con), Mannings Heath, Horsham

Richard W Symonds (Ind) of Lavington Close, Ifield

Steven Michael George Wade (UKIP) of Southwater Close, Ifield.

Langley Green

Andrew Simon Jagger (Con) of Ifield Green, Ifield,

Stephen Joyce (Lab) of Turnpike Place, Langley Green,

Sharon Kennett (UKIP) of St Joan Close, Langley Green

Kevin James Richard Osborne (LDem) of Forest View, Furnace Green.


Julian Charatan (Lab) of Aveling Close, Maidenbower,

Simon Darroch (UKIP) of Waterside Close, Bewbush

Ken Trussell (Con) of St Catherine’s Road, Pound Hill.


Peter Keir Lamb (Lab) of Evans Close, Maidenbower

Raymond Ronald Ward (Con) of Flamsteed Heights, Broadfield.

Pound Hill North

Craig Martin Burke (UKIP) of Blackheath, Pound Hill,

Richard David Burrett (Con) of Brambletye Road, Furnace Green,

Robbie Sharma (Lab) of Loppets Road, Tilgate

Valerie Ann Spooner (LDem) of Binney Court, Pound Hill.

Pound Hill South and Worth

Emma Marie Barton (UKIP) of Horsham Road, West Green,

Howard Stanley Bloom (Con) of Charlwood Green,

Charlwood, Nicholas Dennis (LDem) of Boleyn Close, Maidenbower,

Gillian Dorothy Joyce (Lab) of Turnpike Place, Langley Green,

Beryl Mecrow (Con) of Rother Crescent, Gossops Green

Jason Vine (Lab) of Dalewood Gardens, Northgate.


Lee Richard Gilroy (UKIP) of Langley Drive, Langley Green,

Mike Pickett (Ind) of Malthouse Road, Southgate,

Raj Sharma (Lab) of Furnace Drive, Furnace Green

Jan Tarrant (Con) of Brewer Road, Southgate.

West Green

Alison Burke (UKIP) of Blackheath, Pound Hill,

Vanessa Sara Cumper (Con) of West field Road, West Green,

Elke Brigitte Smith (LDem) of Victoria Road, West Green

Karen Sudan (Lab) of Dempsey Walk, Ifield.