Sussex people recognised in New Year’s Honours

More than 30 people across Sussex have been recognised in the New Year’s Honours.

Wednesday, 30th December 2015, 9:35 pm
Richard Tyler, recognised in the New Year's Honours. Photo: Joel Chant.

Awards have been given for a variety of services, including road safety, fencing, tourism and the British Red Cross.

Richard Tyler, service manager for event first aid and emergency response in Kent and Sussex, has been awarded the British Empire Medal for his services to the Red Cross.

Mr Tyler, 44, is a service manager for event first aid and emergency response in Kent and Sussex and was on site managing the Red Cross first aid and ambulance teams on the day of the Shoreham air show disaster.

The list of Sussex honours:


Stephen Leonard Gooding. Formerly director-General Roads, Traffic and Local Group, Department for Transport. For public service to Transport. (Haywards Heath, West Sussex)



Professor Lesley Jean Fallowfield. Director Sussex Health Outcomes Research and Education in Cancer, University of Sussex. For services to Psycho-Oncology. (Brighton, East Sussex)


Dr Caroline Harper, OBE. Chief executive Officer, Sightsavers. For services to Visually Impaired People Abroad. (Haywards Heath, West Sussex)

Timothy Lloyd Jones. Formerly chief executive Officer National Employment Savings Trust. For services to the Pensions Industry and Pension Provision. (Brighton, East Sussex)


Simon Anthony Lee Brett. Author. For services to Literature. (Arundel, West Sussex)

Charles Ian Paul Denyer, MVO. Deputy Clerk of the Crown in Chancery, Crown Office, Ministry of Justice. For services to Constitutional and Ceremonial Administration. (Bolney, West Sussex)

Professor Maurice Howard. Professor of Art History University of Sussex. For services to Higher Education and Architectural Heritage. (Brighton, East Sussex)

Ian Thornley. Non-Executive director Remploy Ltd. For services to Disabled People. (Petworth, West Sussex)

Richard Wentworth Watson. Founder and director Energise Sussex Coast. For services to the community in Sussex. (St Leonards on Sea, East Sussex)


Brian James Doick. President National Association for Park Home Residents. For services to the Park Home Industry. (Steyning, West Sussex)

John Fothergill. Formerly Grade 7 International Deployment, Border Force, Home Office. For services to Immigration and Border Management. (Brighton, East Sussex)

Richard John Groom. For services to the community particularly Disabled Young People. (Shipley, West Sussex)

Mrs Sonia Jacob. For services to the Magistracy and the Voluntary Sector in West Sussex. (Rustington, West Sussex)

Ms Christina Ruth O’Keeffe. For services to the community in Lewes East Sussex.

Robert John Pooley. For services to Business and to Aviation. (Steyning, West Sussex)

Ms Jane Short. For services to the Art and Craft of Enamelling. (Brighton, East Sussex)

Mrs Margaret Diane Southworth. Chair of Governors, The SABDEN Multi Academy Trust, East Sussex. For services to Education. (Battle, East Sussex)

Gregory James Valerio. For services to the UK and Fairtrade Gold Sectors in Colombia and East Africa. (West Sussex)

Dr Ian Stuart Viney. Director of Strategic Evaluation and Impact Medical Research Council. For services to Research Funding and Evaluation. (Haywards Heath, West Sussex)

Professor Kim Wolff. For public service to Road Safety. (Wadhurst, East Sussex)

Howard Antony Wood. Formerly Teacher Oathall Community College, West Sussex. For services to Education. (Plumpton, East Sussex)


Mrs Sarah Elizabeth Airey Bain. President, Black Down and Hindhead Supporters Group, National Trust. For services to Conservation in Surrey and West Sussex. (Surrey)

Ms Sharon Lesley Blackman. Head Coach Chichester Fencing Club. For services to Fencing. (Felpham, West Sussex)

Mrs Rosemary Ann Burns. For services to Local Government and to the community in Sussex. (Hassocks, West Sussex)

Kenneth Charles Monk. For services to the community in Ardingly West Sussex.

Mrs Marilyn Winifred Nolan. For voluntary service to the community in Newhaven, East Sussex. (Newhaven, East Sussex)

Mrs Jean Margaret Olney. For services to the community in Mayfield, East Sussex. (Mayfield, East Sussex)

Ward Westley (Gary) Smart. Owner, Harbour Park. For services to the Tourism and Leisure Park Industry. (Littlehampton, West Sussex)

Richard John Charles Tyler. Lead Service manager Event First Aid and Emergency Response. For services to the British Red Cross in Kent and Sussex. (Dartford, Kent)


Paul Clifford Morrison. Formerly chief Superintendent Sussex and Surrey Police.

Ms Olivia Clare Pinkney. Deputy chief Constable Sussex Police.

On a national level, Tony McCoy has been awarded a knighthood in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours list as recognition of his services to horseracing.

Veteran actress Barbara Windsor has said she is “so very honoured, proud and extremely humbled” to be awarded a damehood.

Veteran broadcaster Martyn Lewis dedicated his knighthood to the “thousands of inspirational people in the voluntary sector”.

Mr Lewis, who hosted the ITN news before moving to the BBC in 1986, has become a prolific charity campaigner since retiring from the nation’s TV screens in 1999.