Bristol trip and Lancashire test will begin Sussex's T20 and one-day glory bids

Sussex Sharks will start their quest for Vitality Blast glory away to Gloucestershire - and their 50-over one-day cup competition in Lancashire.

Friday, 5th February 2021, 7:00 am
The Sharks will be hoping for T20 and OD Cup success in 2021 / Picture: Getty

The fixtures for both competitions have been released today and show the 14-match Blast group campaign will run through June and July and the OD Cup matches taking place in July and August.

The latter will run alongside The Hundred, with all counties losing their stars to the ECB's much-trumpeted new flagship tournament.

Sussex's Royal London One Day Cup home games all currently all listed as being at Hove, but they still to stage a game at each of Horsham and Eastbourne, depending on how free the cricket season is from any remaining Covid lockdown restrictions.

There's one intriguing feature to the T20 campaign - Sussex will be one of two sides to play Hampshire at the Ageas Bowl in one day – Hants will face Essex on the afternoon of Friday, July 16 and Sussex in the evening.

The Vitality Blast returns to a 14-game group-stage format with Edgbaston to host Finals Day on September 18. The Royal London Cup returns to schedule from July 22 with the final to be staged at Trent Bridge on August 19.

Fixtures for women’s Regional 50 over and T20 competitions to be announced soon, while non first-class counties will play first-class Counties ahead of Royal London Cup - with Sussex scheduled to visit Oxfordshire.

ECB Managing Director of County Cricket Neil Snowball said: “The stage is set for an exciting and important summer of domestic cricket for the First-Class Counties and the women’s regional teams. I know how much county members and supporters eagerly anticipate the release of fixtures and I am pleased that we have been able to plan a complete schedule for men’s and women’s cricket.

“The Vitality Blast has established itself as a much-loved tournament while the return of the Royal London Cup, alongside the remodelled County Championship for this season, will be warmly welcomed as we all look forward to the summer."

Here are Sussex's fixtures...

T20

Friday, June 11 Gloucestershire v Sussex, Bristol County Ground

Saturday, June 12 Sussex v Hampshire, The 1st Central County Ground

Tuesday, June 15 Essex v Sussex,The Cloudfm County Ground

Thursday, June 17 Surrey v Sussex, Kia Oval

Friday, June 18 Sussex v Somerset, The 1st Central County Ground

Tuesday, June 22 Sussex v Glamorgan, The 1st Central County Ground

Friday, June 25 Sussex v Gloucestershire, The 1st Central County Ground

Sunday, June 27 Sussex v Surrey, The 1st Central County Ground

Tuesday, June 29 Sussex v Kent, The 1st Central County Ground

Thursday, July 1 Middlesex v Sussex, Lord's

Friday, July 2 Glamorgan v Sussex, Sophia Gardens

Friday, July 9 Sussex v Essex, The 1st Central County Ground

Friday, July 16 Hampshire v Sussex, Ageas Bowl

Sunday, July 18 Kent v Sussex, Canterbury

One Day Cup (50 over comp)

Friday, July 23 Lancashire v Sussex, venue TBC

Sunday, July 25 Sussex v Durham, The 1st Central County Ground

Tuesday, July 27 Hampshire v Sussex, Ageas Bowl

Friday, July 30 Sussex v Kent, The 1st Central County Ground

Sunday, August 1 Sussex v Gloucestershire, The 1st Central County Ground

Friday, August 6 Worcestershire v Sussex, New Road

Tuesday, August 10 Essex v Sussex, The Cloudfm County Ground

Thursday, August 12 Sussex v Middlesex, The 1st Central County Ground

National County match

Tuesday, July 20 Oxfordshire v Sussex, venue TBC