Just one more final to go for Mid Sussex League

After all the rainfall of the second half of the season Mother Nature has smiled kindly on the Gray Hooper Holt LLP Mid Sussex Football League in allowing its challenge cup finals so far to go ahead without a hitch.

AFC Haywards on winning the Parsons Cup for the first time

They culminate in the final of the Montgomery Cup, presented in 1909 and the League’s most prestigious challenge cup, between Rotherfield and Peacehaven United taking place at Leylands Park, Burgess Hill this coming Saturday afternoon (10 May) with a 3.00 pm kick off.

Both teams play in the League’s Premier Division where Peacehaven look likely to complete the season in third position while Rotherfield have finished sixth with eight points fewer. Peacehaven are the current holders of the trophy while Rotherfield, who have never won it, will be keen to improve their record of securing the League’s Mowatt Cup in 2008, the Edgar German Cup in 1999 and the Stubbins Cup in 1996.

During the past week or so four competition have been decided. The first was the final of the Parsons Cup played at Leylands Park on Tuesday (29 April) where AFC Haywards, unbeaten in all competions so far this season, took until the last few minutes to gain a 2-0 victory against Ditchling II with goals from Luke Brett and Rob Luscombe while Ditchling keeper John Noton, who turned in a fine performance to keep his team in the match for so long, was adjudged the man-of-the-match.

Framfield & Blackboys United who put their name on the Mowatt Cup for the first time

The following evening (Wednesday, 30 April) again at Leylands Park more goals in the latter stages saw Framfield & Blackboys United win the Mowatt Cup for the first time with a 3-1 scoreline against Ashurst Wood. Framfield’s goalscorers were James Adams, Mark Brinkhurst and Luke West with Tom Harris the Ashurst Wood marksman and the man of the match award went to Wood’s Paul Buckfield.

On Saturday (3 May) there was a change of scenery with the Division 11 play-off taking place at Jubilee Field, Three Bridges where AFC Haywards II, the winners of the Section B overcame Handcross Village III, the Section A winners, with a 6-1 scoreline. The Haywards’ scorers were Terry Wallis (4), Shamen Blythe and Clyde Edwards while Handcross’ lone scorer was Jeff Jenkins.

The next morning (Sunday 4 May) the action moved back to Leylands Park for the Fred Pretty Veterans Cup Final where goals from Chris Simmons and Dan French gave Faygate United Veterans a 2-0 victory against AFC Brighton & Hove Veterans to take the trophy for the first time after twice finishing runners-up in recent seasons.